Wednesday, June 14, 2017

World Cosplay Summit Philippines FINALS at Toycon Pop Life FANX 2017

The World Cosplay Summit also known as WCS is an annual international cosplay event that promotes friendly international exchange through Japanese Pop Culture. The parade and championship are held in Nagoya, Aichi Japan with several related events being held in the Kanto. Kansai and Tokai areas. A cosplay stage performance competition called the “Cosplay Championship” was first held at Aichi Expo in 2005 and selection of national representatives for the event comes from preliminary and regional rounds held at different events from the respective countries worldwide.

WCS representatives with Thousand Sunny at Laguna Ten Bosch in Gamagori-shi Aichi Prefecture, Nagoya Japan 2015

World Cosplay Summit Philippines
The World Cosplay Summit Philippines also known as WCSPH is a Non-Profit Organization that spearheads national qualifying legs that chooses the best pair of cosplayers to be sent to Japan and compete for the title of “best cosplayer” in the world for World Cosplay Summit annually. WCSPH is composed of 2 organizing teams – Anime Alliance Philippines for Luzon Legs and Nationals while AMbox Davao for Visayas and Mindanao legs, together with the help of other organizing teams such as Otaku Bloodline Guild and Yuya, qualifying rounds produces quality events throughout different regions. WCSPH was created in the year 2013 wherein the first pair of cosplayers were chosen to go to Japan to represent the Philippines. After the first 2 years of being an observer country, we were finally given the chance to compete against the other countries in 2015.

WCS Team Philippines 2013 – Japan Magazine Photoshoot (Left) Ping-Ping (Right) SJ de Ocampo from (Title) Dynasty Warriors

WCS Team Philippines Team 2016 – Red Carpet Parade in Aichi Prefecture, Nagoya Japan (Left) Gomer Taboada (Right) Yukari Guerzon (Title) Threads of Fate

WCS Championship Stage 2016 – Winning Pair Team Indonesia by Japan Daily

35 Participating Countries for 2017
(Left to Right)
Australia – Brazil – Canada – China – Denmark – Finland –Chile
France – Germany – Hong Kong – Indonesia – India – Italy – Belgium
Japan – Korea – Kuwait – Philippines – Portugal – Malaysia – UAE
Mexico – Netherlands – Russia – Singapore – Spain – Sweden – Myanmar
Switzerland – Taiwan – Thailand – UK – USA – Vietnam – Puerto Rico


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.